2014 SBS Awards Festival: Gayo Daejeon Winners + Performances

Each year, the main broadcasting companies in Korea have a large festival to commemorate the year. Starting off this year’s round of festivals was SBS with their three-part 2014 Seoul Awards Festival. Tonight’s first part was the 2014 SBS Gayo Daejeon, a yearly festival where all of the hottest K-pop stars come together to perform and take part in special collaboration states.

The 2014 Gayo Daejeon was held on December 21st at the Samsungdong COEX D Hall. The show began with the SBS Gayo Daejeon project group which consisted of B1A4’s Baro, WINNER’s Son Minho, CNBLUE’s Jung Yonghwa, INFINITE’s L, and 2PM’s Nichkhun. After their opening performance, they were joined by fellow MC for the night, actress Song Ji Hyo.

The first segment of the show was called “Strong Babies” and featured newly-debuted K-pop groups. GOT7 was up first with a mix of “Stop It” and “Girls Girls Girls,” followed by Red Velvet with “Happiness.” New girl group Lovelyz was next with their debut track, “Candy Jelly Love.” WINNER hit the stage next with their hit song “Empty” and all of the groups came back to the stage to perform Maroon 5’s “Moves Like Jagger” to finish off the segment.




Ailee performed a mix of “Don’t Touch Me” and “Problem.” SECRET was next up with a dance break before performing their hit track, “I’m In Love.” VIXX began with their hit track, “Error.” Zico performed his solo track, “Tough Cookie,” and was joined by the rest of Block B to perform “H.E.R.” Teen Top hit the stage next to perform their hit track, “Missing.”



Child actress Kim Ji Young introduced Sunmi’s performance of “Full Moon” featuring 2PM’s Taecyeon and B1A4 performed “Solo Day.” Park Boram then joined B1A4 on stage for a collaboration performance. 15& and Kim Ji Young took the stage to perform the hit song “Let It Go.” Apink was next up to perform their latest mega-hit track, “LUV.”




Running Man’s Yoo Jae Suk and Lee Kwang Soo announced the nominees and winner of the New Artist award. The nominees were GOT7, Red Velvet, Park Boram, and WINNER. The New Artist Award went to WINNER!


AOA performed a mix of their hit songs “Miniskirt” and “Like A Cat.” Girl’s Day performed a remix of their hit song “Something” without member Minah after a special intro of “Darling.” KARA took the stage next to perform a remix of “MAMMAMIA.”




The second segment, “Chemi Stage,” began with a special rendition of Soyou and JunggiGo’s “Some,” featuring INFINITE’s Sungkyu, BTOB’s Sungjae, and more. San E and Raina performed their track, “A Midsummer’s Night Sweetness.” Taeyang was next up and performed a collaboration stage with Jeff Bernat as well as his hit track, “Eyes, Nose, Lips.”


— Part 2 —

The second part of the festival started with the third segment, “Hip-Hop Station.” Epik High performed “Born Hater” featuring Son Minho, Bobby, and B.I. before finishing their performance with “Happen Ending.”

Dynamic Duo then took to the stage to perform “SsSs” with Park Junghyun (Lena Park).


Yeo Jingoo and Jang Yewon announced the Syrup Global Star (2PM), as well as the Syrup Best Band (CNBLUE).



T-ARA was next up to perform a remix of their track, “Sugar Free.” 4Minute took to the stage to perform a remix of their hit track, “What Are You Doing Today?” CNBLUE performed their hit track, “Can’t Stop,” with Yonghwa on the piano.




Jeon Hyunmoo and Kim Gyuri announced that the winner of the Female Soloist Award was Ailee, and the winner of the Male Soloist Award was Taeyang!


SISTAR was next to take the stage with their hit track, “Touch My Body.” 2NE1 followed up with “Crush” and “Come Back Home” without member Park Bom.

ZE:A’s Kwanghee and M.I.B’s Kangnam announced the winner of the night’s SNS contest “Best Selfie,” EXO!

The fourth segment was called, “Happy Christmas,” and began with Orange Caramel’s “Copycat,” with the members in complete Christmas-themed outfits. Next up was Akdong Musician with a Korean and English version of the holiday song, “Winter Wonderland.” Akdong Musician also performed one of their hit title tracks, “200%.”



BTOB dressed in reindeer outfits and performed a short version of their latest track, “You Can Cry,” and Apink returned to the stage to perform “Mr. Chu” with the members of BTOB. Sung Si Kyung and Ailee performed “Baby It’s Cold Outside.”



Kim Su-ro and Jang Yoojin announced the Female Group Award, which went to 2NE1, as well as the Male Group Award, which went to EXO.


N.E.X.T performed a special stage to commemorate the late Shin Hae Chul, and a video was shown to commemorate the late members of Ladies’ Code.

“Mega Station” began with a remix version of INFINITE’s “Last Romeo” and “Back.” BEAST took to the stage next to perform a piano version of their hit track, “12:30.”

2PM was up next with “Go Crazy,” followed by GD & Taeyang with “GOOD BOY.” EXO then took to the stage to perform their mega-hit “Overdose.”


Ryu Hyun Jin and Han Chae Young announced the winner of the Sound Source Award, Soyou X Junggigo with “Some”! They also announced the winner of the Album Award, EXO!


The fifth segment, “Legend Stage,” featured 2PM performing Seo Taiji’s past hits. Seo Taiji then took to the stage to perform “Fighter of the Forest” and “Christmalo.win.” To end the show, all of the artists came back onstage to perform with Seo Taiji.



2014 SBS Gayo Daejeon Top 10: Girl’s Day, Akdong Musician, Ailee, SISTAR, 2NE1, Apink, BEAST, Tayang, INFINITE, EXO.

New Artist Award: WINNER
Nominees: GOT7, Red Velvet, Park Boram, and WINNER

Syrup Global Star: 2PM

Syrup Best Band: CNBLUE

Female Soloist Award: Ailee

Male Soloist Award: Taeyang

Female Group Award: 2NE1

Male Group Award: EXO

Sound Source Award: Soyou X Junggigo – “Some”

Album Award: EXO – “Overdose”


Source: 2014 SBS Gayo Daejeon Official Site (1, 2, and 3) and SBSNOW Official YouTube Channel