“NO.MERCY” survivors to debut as Monsta X

As Starship Entertainment’s talent survival show NO.MERCY came to an end, the seven survivors will be making their debut as the group Monsta X.

Following the February 11th finale of the intense elimination show, seven survivors remained. Set to debut with an unknown release date, Monsta X will consist of Jooheon, I.M, Shownu, Wonho, Hyungwon, Minhyuk, and Kihyun.

The agency shared that the group’s name has a double meaning with the “Monsta” representing the group’s potential to to be monsters in the K-pop scene. “Mon” is also French for “my” and the “X” represents the unknown.

A combination of two rappers and five vocalists, the upcoming group originates from the show of twelve trainees, later adding in rapper I.M to make thirteen total participants. After a series of debut missions culminating in a three on three on three battle, the seven were chosen by audience members as well as various judges and artists including K.Will, SISTAR’s Hyorin and Dasom, Rhymer, Giriboy, and Mad Clown.

The winning trio of that mission, Hyungwon, Jooheon, and I.M, recently dropped the music video for their track “Interstellar.” Other songs to come out of the show include “Coach Me,” “Pillow,” and “Young.”

Expectations are high for this new hip hop boy group set to debut in the first half of this year, although many international fans are disappointed that trainees #gun and Seokwon were eliminated.

Source: Sports Donga