10+ Amazing Project Groups Fans Wish Would Make More Music

Some of these group are still active, some aren’t, but they all deserve more love for being awesome!

A K-Pop project group is a group of singers, dancers, and rappers created for a specific reason, such as for a CF or for a TV show. Project groups are usually temporary and often give fans the chance to see their favourite artists from different groups perform together as one unit.



Y TEEN is a 14-member project group under Starship Entertainment that is made up of  all 7 MONSTA X members and 7 Cosmic Girls‘ members. This group was formed to promote for KT‘s “Y TEEN” phone plan. “Do Better” will make you wish for more co-ed K-Pop groups!


2. Younique Unit

Formed in 2012, this special unit is a collaboration between SM Entertainment and Hyundai Motor Company. The groups’ members are: Super Junior’s Eunhyuk, Henry (former Super Junior-M member), Girls’ Generation’s Hyoyeon, SHINee’s Taemin, EXO’s Kai, and Luhan (former EXO member). Their song “MAXSTEP” is so good that you’ll forget that it was made as an advertisement!


3. 2012 SBS Gayo Daejun’s special units

Dazzling RED is one of 4 one-time units created for the annual end of the year music and award show, SBS Gayo Daejun. Its lineup included: Nicole (formerly of KARA), HyunA, 
Hyosung (formerly of Secret), Nana (After School), and Hyolyn (formerly of SISTAR).

Dramatic BLUE consists of Jo Kwon (2AM), Yang Yo Seob (HIGHLIGHT)G.O (MBLAQ), Woohyun (INFINITE), and Niel (Teen Top).

Dynamic BLACK’s members are Jinwoon (2AM), Gikwang (HIGHLIGHT), Joon (MBLAQ),  Hoya (INFINITE), L.Joe (formerly of Teen Top). 

 Mystic WHITE‘s members are Ji Young (formerly of KARA), Gayoon (formerly of 4Minute), Sunhwa (formerly of Secret), Lizzy (formerly of After School), and Bora (formerly of SISTAR). 



RAINZ is still very fresh in the minds of Produce fans, but this 7-member project boy group hasn’t received quite as much recognition as their brother group, Wanna One. RAINZ is managed by KISS Entertainment and consists of Produce 101 Season 2 contestants. They debuted last year with their first mini-album Sunshine.


5. Toheart

This amazing duo was formed by INFINITE’s Woohyun and SHINee’s Key in 2014 as a collaboration between SM Entertainment and Woollim Entertainment. These two superstar friends sound so good together that fans are still wishing for a comeback!



Star Empire Entertainment formed NASTY NASTY, a unit composed of ZE:A‘s Kevin, Nine Muses‘s Kyungri and Sojin. The group dropped their only song “Knock” on September 3, 2014. This trio sounds like they were born to sing together so maybe, just maybe, they will make a comeback!


7. Girls Next Door

This star-studded project girl group was created by KBS’s Idol Drama Operation Team. Its 7 members are Moonbyul (MAMAMOO), Seulgi (Red Velvet), Sohee (former I.B.I member), D.ana (SONAMOO), YooA, (OH MY GIRL), Sujeong (Lovelyz), and Somi. (formerly of I.O.I). With a line-up like that, how can you go wrong?


8. Real Girls Project

In 2016, Interactive Media Mix formed Real Girls Project, a 10-member female project group, for the drama series The IDOLM@STER.KR. Some of the group’s members include SoRi (CoCoSoRi), Lee Suji (former The Ark member), and soloist rapper Mintty.


9. M&D

Like Toheart, M&D was formed by two talented artists from different groups who wanted to make music together: Super Junior’s Heechul and TraxX‘s Kim Jungmo. One of the things that makes this pop-rock project group unique is that it doesn’t intend to stick to one genre; the members essentially write what they want when they want! Their debut single, “Close Ur Mouth”, was released in 2011.


10. C.I.V.A

C.I.V.A was a 3-member project girl group created for the mockumentary show The God of Music 2. Fun fact: the name cannot be pronounced as a single word because it sounds like a curse word in Korean! Yikes! The group only produced one song, “Why?”, but it’s a bop!


11. SM the Ballad

SM Entertainment sure loves its project groups, and this ballad group is one of the most beloved special units of all time! The line up of current and former members includes members from EXOf(x), Super Junior, TVXQ!, and more!