7 Of K-Pop’s Rarest Resource — Co-Ed Groups

Which co-ed group is your favorite?

Co-ed groups in K-Pop are rare. Like, really rare. Think “getting-the-last-slice-of-pizza-at-lunch-in-the-cafeteria” rare. For whatever reason, they’re not a common sight in the genre, despite the incredible, mostly untapped potential to fill the gap in the market.

1. Troublemaker

Troublemaker debuted in 2011, composed of HyunA (then a member of 4Minute) and Hyunseung (then a member of Beast). Although Troublemaker’s last single was released in 2013, they didn’t officially disband until 2018, when HyunA announced she would be leaving Cube Entertainment.

2. Cool

Cool debuted in 1994. The group originally consisted of four members: Kim Sung Soo, Lee Jaehoon, Yoo Chaeyoung, and Choi Junmyung, however, Yoo Chaeyoung and Choi Junmyung left the group from the second album, leaving an opening for female member Yuri to join. Cool’s last album Cool 11 was released in 2009, and the group is still together.

3. Coed School

Coed School debuted in 2010 and consisted of four female members (Sumi, Hyoyoung, Hyewon, and Chanmi) and six male members (Taewoon, Sungmin, Jungwoo, Kwanghaeng, Kangho, and Noori). The group’s EP Something That Is Cheerful and Fresh peaked at number 8 on the Gaon Chart. Unfortunately, the group disbanded in 2013 when their agency stated that they had no plans for Coed School to reform.

4. Roo’ra

Roo’ra was one of the biggest groups of the 90s, having debuted in 1994. They disbanded in 2001 but reunited briefly in 2009 to release A9ain, their ninth and final album. The original lineup consisted of Lee Sangmin, Go Young Wook, Kim Jihyun, and Shin Junghwan. When Shin Junghwan left the group to fulfill his military service, he was replaced by Chae Rina.  Kim Jihyun left the group to become a soloist, however, he reunited with the group for their 1999 album Six ‘n Six.


KARD, composed of members J.Seph, BM, Somin, and Jiwoo, is one of the few co-ed groups still around. The group debuted in 2016 with the bop “Hola Hola” and have been putting out hit after hit ever since, with their most recent EP Red Moon having been released in February 2020.

6. Triple H

Triple H debuted in 2017 and would have celebrated their three year anniversary this May if they were still together. The group, consisting of members HyunA, Hui, and E’dawn (now professionally known as Dawn) was praised for their fresh concept and throuple-vibe. Unfortunately, the group disbanded only a year later when it was revealed HyunA and groupmate E’dawn had been in a relationship for two years at the time.


AKMU, formerly known as Akdong Musician, is a sibling duo. The brother-sister duo, Lee Chan Hyuk and Lee Suhyun, debuted under YG Entertainment in 2014. Their latest album Sailing was released in 2019.