9 Girl Groups That Became Even Better After Adding New Members

Imagine them without their new members… impossible.

While some groups debut with the perfect lineup, others have made theirs even better by adding new members that truly complete them. Just take a look at these eight girl groups that all added more members after their debut.

1. Red Velvet

One of the girl groups best-known for adding a member is Red Velvet. The group debuted in August 2014 as a four-member act with Irene, Seulgi, Wendy, and Joy.

Red Velvet before Yeri | SM Entertainment

Then, in March 2015, Yeri debuted alongside them.

Red Velvet with Yeri | SM Entertainment


WJSN first debuted with 12 members in February 2016: Seola, Xuanyi, Bona, EXY, Soobin, Luda, Dawon, Eunseo, Cheng Xiao, Meiqi, Yeoreum, and Dayoung.

WJSN before Yeonjung | Starship Entertainment

Then, after I.O.I disbanded as scheduled, the 13th member Yeonjung joined the team in July 2016.

WJSN with Yeonjung | Starship Entertainment

3. CLC

CLC used to have just five members. Seunghee, Yujin, Seungyeon, Sorn, and Yeeun debuted together in March 2015.

CLC before Elkie and Eunbin | Cube Entertainment

Then, when they released their third mini-album in February 2016, Elkie and Eunbin joined them. Sadly, Elkie left the group in February 2021 while CLC itself disbanded in May 2022.

CLC with Elkie and Eunbin | Cube Entertainment

4. DIA

Eunice, Huihyeon, Jenny, Yebin, Eunjin, Seunghee, and Chaeyeon debuted together as DIA in September 2015.

DIA before Eunchae, Jueun, and Somyi | MBK Entertainment

In March 2016, they added a new member: Eunchae.

DIA with Eunchae | MBK Entertainment

A further two members were revealed in April 2017: Jueun and Somyi. The group has been on indefinite hiatus since September 2022.

DIA with Somyi and Jueun | MBK Entertainment


In 2016, Hyebin, Yeonwoo, Jane, Nayun, JooE, Ahin, and Nancy won the survival show Finding Momoland. They debuted as the original members of MOMOLAND in November 2016.

MOMOLAND before Daisy and Taeha | MLD Entertainment

The following year, two new members joined the group: Daisy and Taeha. Sadly, Daisy and Taeha are no longer members of MOMOLAND, and Yeonwoo also left the group in 2019. MOMOLAND officially disbanded in February 2023.

MOMOLAND with Daisy and Taeha | MLD Entertainment

6. Cignature

Cignature debuted with seven members: Chaesol, Jeewon, Seline, Belle, Semi, Ye Ah, and Sunn. However, sadly for fans, Ye Ah and Sunn left for unknown reasons in April 2021.

Cignature before Dohee and Chloe | J9 Entertainment

While their spots can never be filled, many are looking forward to seeing activities with the two new members added in June: Chloe and Dohee.

Cignature with Chloe and Dohee | J9 Entertainment

7. Wonder Girls

Wonder Girls underwent many lineup changes over the years. Originally, they debuted with Yeeun, Sunye, Sunmi, Hyuna, and Sohee.

Wonder Girls before Yubin and Hyerim | JYP Entertainment

However, Hyuna left soon after debut, and Yubin was added in her place.

Wonder Girls with Yubin | JYP Entertainment

Then, after Sunmi temporarily left the group in 2010, another new member was added: Hyerim. Sunmi later rejoined Wonder Girls in 2015, while Sohee and Sunye left around the same time.

Wonder Girls with Hyerim | JYP Entertainment


Most know EXID as a five-member group, but there were originally six members: Yuji, Hani, Haeryeong, Jeonghwa, LE, and Dami.

EXID before Solji and Hyelin | Banana Culture

After Yuji, Haeryeong, and Dami sadly departed in April 2012 for personal and career reasons, they were replaced by Solji and Hyelin.

EXID with Solji and Hyelin | Banana Culture

9. Billlie

Billlie debuted in November 2021 with six members: Moon Sua, Suhyeon, Haram, Tsuki, Siyoon and Haruna.

Shortly after their debut, they added Sheon to the group. Sheon competed in Girls Planet 999 under her real name, Kim Suyeon.