These Were The Top 10 Best K-Pop Groups That Debuted In 2020, According To Fans

Do you agree with this list?

2020 had a ton of new K-Pop artists debut, some of which had much more attention and better marketing than others. Some came from big companies, and others came from relatively unknown companies, but there were successful groups from both that are already making a pretty big name for themselves!

On the website Ranker, thousands of fans voted for what they believe to be the best K-Pop groups that debuted in 2020. Of course, the list is highly subjective, but it’s still interesting to see who was chosen!

Here are who fans voted as the 10 best K-Pop groups that debuted in 2020.

10. H&D

H&D is a male duo that debuted on April 21 under Pocketdol Studio. The members, Hangyul and Dohyon, were most well-known for competing on Produce X 101, where they placed 7th and 8th respectively. This placed them in X1 after the show completed, but of course, it was short-lived as X1 had to disband less than a year later due to voting scandals from the show.

Fortunately, they were still able to form this duo together! They’ve released a mini-album, Soulmate (their debut album), and a special album, Umbrella, so far, with title tracks “Soul”, “Goodnight”, and “Umbrella”. However, they will be debuting in Pocketdol Studio’s upcoming group BAE173, so Umbrella was their last album as a duo.

9. Weeekly

Weeekly is a seven-member girl group that debuted on June 30 under Play M Entertainment, and they’re actually the first girl group the company has created since Apink debuted in 2011. Some of the members — Soojin, Jiyoon, and Soeun — competed on the survival reality show Mix Nine before debut, though Soojin had to withdraw early due to a traffic accident. Their other members are Monday, Jaehee, Jihan, and Zoa.

Since their debut, they’ve released two mini-albums, We Are (their debut album) and We Can. The accompanying singles were “Tag Me (@Me)” and “Zig Zag” respectively, both of which have been pretty successful on YouTube for a new girl group!


STAYC is a six-member girl group that debuted on November 12 under High Up Entertainment, with their name being an acronym for “Star To A Young Culture”, which was also the name of their debut single album. The group consists of six members — Sumin, Sieun, Isa, Seeun, Yoon, and J — and was formed by famous producer duo Black Eyed Pilseung.

The group had a great start even before debut, with dance covers of BLACKPINK, BTS, and Stray Kids as well as vocal covers of Red Velvet and TWICE earning them millions of views pre-debut. Black Eyed Pilseung is known for hits such as TWICE’s “TT”, Chungha‘s “Roller Coaster”, and Apink‘s “Dumhdurum”, so this group was definitely highly anticipated, and already doing very well with their debut single, “So Bad”, earning 2.6 million views in the first 24 hours!

7. cignature

Cignature is a seven-member girl group that debuted under C9 Entertainment‘s sub-label J9 Entertainment on February 4 with the single “Nun Nu Nan Na”. Five of the members — Chaesol, Jeewon, Ye Ah, Sunn, and Belle, were formerly part of the group Good Day, with Semi and Seline as the other two members of cignature.

They released their second debut single, “ASSA”, in April, and then came out with their first mini-album, Listen and Speak, in September with the title song “Arisong”. The group has been called unique, refreshing, and youthful, and the album actually sold out for a while!


CRAXY is a five-member girl group that debuted on March 3 under S.A ITAINMENT with a full-length album called My Universe. Prior to their debut, each member had a pre-debut solo song released in 2019: Woo-Ah‘s “Issue”, Hyejin‘s “Boyfriend”, ChaeY‘s “Sixteen”, Swan‘s “My Soul”, and Karin‘s “Ka Ka Ka”. They also had a couple of seasonal projects during the year, as well as contests for fans to participate in, under the pre-debut name WishGirls.

The title track of their debut album was “Aria”, which has over 3 million views on YouTube. They were supposed to make their first comeback in August or October last year, but due to the ongoing pandemic, they have since said that they hope to release new music around their one year anniversary, though it’s unclear if that will still be the case.

5. TOO

TOO is a ten-member boy group, short for “Ten Oriented Orchestra”, that debuted on April 1 after being formed from Mnet‘s 2019 reality show To Be World Klass. They participated in Road to Kingdom shortly after their debut, though they were sadly the second group to be eliminated despite their great performances.

Their debut mini-album, Reason for Being: Benevolence, had the title song “Magnolia”, which has had around 9 million views to date. Their mini-second album, Running TOOgether, came out on July 15 with the title track “Count 1, 2”, and on August 13, they won the “New Artist Award” at the 2020 Soribada Awards, their first since debut!


CRAVITY is a nine-member boy group that debuted under Starship Entertainment on April 14, 2020 with the mini-album Season 1. Hideout: Remember Who We Are with title track “Break All the Rules”. Prior to debut, members Jungmo, Wonjin, Minhee, and Hyeongjun participated in Produce X 101, with Minhee and Hyeongjun placing at #10 and #4 respectively and earning places in X1, who they promoted with until their disbandment in January 2020.

Their debut album peaked at the top of Gaon‘s Album Chart, selling over 100,000 copies and making them the best-selling rookie group of 2020 at the time. They released their second album, Season 2. Hideout: The New Day We Step Into, on August 24, and on August 13 they won the “New Artist Award” alongside other rookie groups at the 2020 Soribada Awards, which was their first award. They also had their first music show win on September 1 with their song “Flame” on The Show! Currently, they’re preparing for a comeback on January 19 with the album Season 3. Hideout: Be Our Voice.


MCND is a five-member boy group that debuted on February 27 under TOP Media with the album into the ICE AGE and title song “Ice Age”. The members include Castle J, BIC, Minjae, Huijin, and WIN, with some of the members participating in composing and writing the lyrics for their songs (namely Castle J, BIC, and WIN).

They had their first comeback with the digital single “Spring” on April 9, and also released their second album, Earth Age, on August 20 with the title song “Nanana”. And today, on January 8, they actually released their third mini-album MCND Age with the title song “Crush”! They, too, along with TOO and CRAVITY, also won the title of “New Artist Award” at the 2020 Soribada Awards, which was also their first award.


TREASURE is a twelve-member boy group that debuted under YG Entertainment on August 7 with the single album The First Step: Chapter One and the title song “BOY”. They were formed through the company’s reality-survival program YG Treasure Box, where 29 male trainees competed to end up in YG Entertainment’s newest boy group.

They’ve already found a lot of success since their debut, winning numerous rookie awards including the “Rookie of the Year (Male)” award at the Asia Artist Awards and the “Best New Male Artist” and “Worldwide Fans’ Choice” awards at the Mnet Asia Music Awards. Because of this and other successes, they’ve been dubbed the Global Super Rookies” of 2020.


SECRET NUMBER is a five-member girl group that debuted under Vine Entertainment on May 19. Only one of their members — Soodam — was born in South Korea. Jinny and Denise are Korean-American, Dita is from Indonesia, and Léa is from Japan, making this a very multi-ethnic group!

So far they’ve released two albums: Who Dis? (their debut album) and Got That Boom. “Who Dis?” in particular did especially well from the album of the same name, and they already seem to have a pretty solid fanbase!

Source: Ranker