JYP Entertainment apologizes over controversial choosing of Twice members

JYP Entertainment has issued its second apology regarding the controversial choosing of its upcoming girl group Twice after the initial finale episode aired on July 7th.

The controversy arose after previously eliminated trainee Momo was unprecedentedly added to the final lineup of Twice by J.Y. Park.

After choosing its seven members, which many viewers understood the number to be the amount of members Twice would carry at the beginning of the SIXTEEN broadcast, the producer shockingly revealed during the airing that he was choosing an additional two members.

J.Y. Park chose Tzuyu as the 8th member of Twice, and shockingly chosen netizen-eliminated trainee Momo as the 9th.

JYP Entertainment issued its second statement reading:

“Hello. This is JYP Entertainment.

Regarding the SIXTEEN selection process.

We would like to show our deepest thanks to all the feedback we have received. We apologize for failing to clearly communicate the selection process, and we’d like to explain in detail the selection process.

Openly recruited 7 + Specially chosen 2

The final member selection criteria of the program were carried out through missions shown to viewers, and the JYP staff, viewer votes, and the audience’s votes overall was used to select the members. Even before the final episode, it was already decided that the seven members would be elected through a selection process but the thought that it may leave some regrets, one member was chosen solely by viewers’ voting (Tzuyu) and another was chosen by J.Y. Park PD (Momo). 

As a result, the final decision became 7 openly recruited and 2 specially chosen, we apologize that we did not relay this method to viewers properly, and humbly accept all the criticism we have received for the show’s controversial items including its harshness. 

While trying to get the audience closer to the show through a new format, and trying to find harmony of both the broadcasting station and our company’s goals, there were a lot of shortcomings. We ask for your understanding, and in the future, we will do our best to give you more satisfying results.”

The final lineup is Nayeon, Jungyeon, Dahyun, Mina, Sana, Jihyo, Tzuyu, Chaeyoung, and Momo.



Source: OSEN