KBS and SBS to choose different paths on their year-end music award shows

KBS and SBS have chosen different paths on their year-end music festivals. KBS has announced its Grand Music Festival to be a music festival, whereas SBS is to bring back awards for Gayo Daejun.

On December 8th, a KBS personnel told Daily Sports, “Grand Music Festival will now include no awards, instead it will be filled with celebratory performances by the musicians and artists.”

Since 2006 KBS got rid of its music award ceremonies and changed its name to “Grand Music Festival.” In 2009, however, KBS resumed honoring artists with “The Best Song of the Year Award.” The winners since 2009 are : 2PM‘s “Again & Again” (2009), Girls’ Generation‘s “Oh!” (2010), BEAST‘s “Fiction” (2011), and EXO‘s “Growl” (2013).

Another KBS personnel added, “We plan to invite the 22 most active teams of the year and fill the show with their performances and collaborations.”

On the other hand, SBS is bringing its music award show back for the first time in 8 years. SBS stated that official data, including, the number of downloads, album sales, and SNS views, will be used to determine who wins the awards. They also stated that SBS Gayo Daejun will be the best award show in Korea, and mentioned, “Those who made 2014 shine will gather together and have a battle of their talents and skills. You will be able to see who claims the honor of being the first winner of Gayo Daejun live.”

Source: Ilgan Sports