MIXNINE’s Woo Jinyoung And Song Hangyeom Opens Up About Their Debut’s Cancellation

The members admitted they were disappointed after it was confirmed MIXNINE would not debut.

MIXNINE‘s Woo Jinyoung and Song Hangyeom have spoken up about the cancellation of the group’s debut.

Woo Jinyoung won 1st place in the MIXNINE competition and Song Hangyeom ranked 6th. Woo Jinyoung had also appeared on Produce 101 Season 2 but was eliminated at 40th place.


During a live broadcast with fellow HappyFace Entertainment trainees, Woo Jinyoung carefully mentioned MIXNINE’s failure to debut.

“My debut with ‘MIXNINE’ is not going to happen. There are some regrets, but I will work hard at this agency and show you a better version of me in the future. I would appreciate it if you looked forward to it and waited for me. I’ll work hard to see you soon.”  Woo Jinyoung


In a separate live broadcast, SEVEN O’CLOCK‘s Song Hangyeom brought up the group’s cancellation before moving on to address fan questions.

“There is something I want to say to everyone. You saw the news, right? There are a lot of regrets, but I’m so grateful to all the fans, family, friends, and members who cheered me on during the broadcast. I love you. They were so supportive but the situation didn’t match up and it ended like this, but I will return with a better version of myself so please wait for me. I’m sorry because everyone cheered me on, but that’s how things worked out, so that’s how it is. Thank you and I’m sorry.” — Song Hangyeom


While YG Entertainment has made no official statement, HappyFace Entertainment previously confirmed that contract discussions had fallen through.

The Debut of MIXNINE’s Final Group Has Been Cancelled

It is believed YG Entertainment’s three-year contract proposal caused the issue, since the original agreement was for a contract lasting under a year. Additionally, illegal clauses in previous YG Entertainment contracts may have added to the negotiation breakdowns.


The final MIXNINE lineup members were Woo Jinyoung, Kim Hyojin, Lee Rubin, Kim Byeongkwan, Choi Hyunsuk, Song Hangyeom, Kim Minseok, Lee Donghun, and Lee Byounggon.


Fans are assuring the MIXNINE boys they will continue to support them, no matter what, with the hashtag #StaywithMIXNINE.

Source: MK Sports