Ahn Jae Hyun Continues To Sit Out “New Journey To The West” Following Divorce

He won’t return for Season 8 either.

Ahn Jae Hyun continues to stay away from the spotlight, choosing not to return to New Journey To The West Season 8.

According to an exclusive report from Osen, Ahn Jae Hyun has decided to not return to the lineup of New Journey To The West Season 8. The lineup will consist of Kang Ho Dong, LeeSooGeun, EunJiwon, Kyuhyun, Mino, and P.O, all of which who will return from Season 7.

New Journey To The West is preparing for their 8th season right now, however are in a cautious situation due to the current increase in Coronavirus social distancing measures up to level 2.5, which limits many gatherings in public spaces. Filming for the new season was scheduled to begin in August, but has been on hold due to the recent spike in Coronavirus cases in Korea.

Ahn Jae Hyun was scheduled to return to the cast in Season 8, as he sat out Season 7 following his complicated divorce with Goo Hye Sun. Since his divorce scandal started, his most recent project was MBC drama Love with Flaws, which began filming prior to the start of the scandal. He has not appeared in the public eye since then, although is is currently considering his next project.

The production team of the show also confirmed Ahn Jae Hyun would not be appearing.

After consulting with Ahn Jae Hyun’s side, it was decided that he will not appear in the new season of New Journey To The West.

The members from season 7 will stay with us for season 8.

— New Journey To The West

Source: Osen and Sports Donga