Yang Hyun Suk And YG Announce BABYMONSTER Will Debut With Only 5 Members — 2 Will Be Eliminated

Who will the final five be?

YG Entertainment has announced that BABYMONSTER will be debuting with five members, meaning two trainees on the show will be eliminated.

At the end of the eighth episode of Last Evaluation, Yang Hyun Suk announced to the seven trainees competing for a spot in BABYMONSTER (Ruka, Pharita, Asa, Ahyeon, Haram, Rora, and Chiquita) that the number of members for the group was not decided yet.

Our evaluation has now come to a close.

We haven’t decided on the number of members yet. I know you’re all very skilled but since I’m a producer, all I think of is what the best combination would be, and there’s no such rank as to who is good or bad.

— Yang Hyun Suk

While the trainees received praise from not only Yang Hyun Suk but also YG Entertainment artists who worked on the show as mentors and trainers, Yang Hyun Suk also conducted a separate interview, revealing the number of trainees he has decided will debut as BABYMONSTER.

Ever since I started think of planning for this group BABYMONSTER, the number of members I had in mind was 5.

None of the girl groups produced at YG had many members. BLACKPINK has 4, 2NE1 had 4 too.

I haven’t yet decided on the five final members.

The final five members of BABYMONSTER will be announced on May 12, two weeks from today. May 12, 12 am KST. We will publicly announce the final members.

— Yang Hyun Suk

Watch the eighth episode of BABYMONSTER’s show Last Evaluation below: