FNC Entertainment Announces Song Seunghyun Will Leave FTISLAND, Others Renew Contracts

He has left FTISLAND.

FNC Entertainment has announced FTISLAND‘s main guitarist and vocal Song Seunghyun will be leaving the group after his exclusive contract with the company expires on December 31.

The company released a statement saying that the other 3 members of the group, Lee Hongki, Lee Jaejin, and Choi Minhwan, have renewed their contracts with them, while Song Seunghyun will be leaving to focus on acting.

Hello, this is FNC Entertainment.

We recently completed the renewal of our contracts with three FTISLAND members: Lee Hongki, Lee Jaejin, and Choi Minhwan. The three members will discuss the direction the group will go towards following the completion of their mandatory military service.

We will continue to support FTISLAND and the members in their musical activities and expand their field of activities in a variety of ways, using each of the members’ strengths.

Another member, Song Seunghyun, will conclude his exclusive contract with us on December 31, and also conclude his activities with FTISLAND. Song Seunghyun has been active in many ways, from dramas to musicals to short films, and has decided to focus on his career as an actor following the expiration of his contract.

He made his decision after a long and deep conversation with FTISLAND. Both FNC Entertainment and the FTISLAND members respect his decision, and we are asking for the fans’ support and encouragement for his new path, following his 11 years with us.

— FNC Entertainment

FTISLAND debuted in 2007 to critical and public acclaim with their song “Love Sick”. Over their time promoting together, they reached success in both Korea and Japan as K-Pop’s representative rock band.

Source: FNC
Scroll to top