YG Entertainment Shocks Fans After Announcing A Change To BABYMONSTER’s Final Line-Up

Netizens express disappointment in the unexpected decision.

YG Entertainment announced in May 2021 that they were preparing to debut a new girl group, their first since BLACKPINK‘s debut in 2016.

Over a year later, fans got their first proper look at the awaited group, BABYMONSTER, through an official teaser released by YG Entertainment.

It was formerly speculated that the group would have seven members after a fan captured seven female trainees entering the company building. YG Entertainment appeared to confirm that theory on December 30, 2022, when they released a teaser poster showing seven silhouettes, followed by a promise to release more about the group on January 1.

YG Entertainment’s BABYMONSTER teaser poster | @ygent_official/Twitter

Since the beginning of the year, YG Entertainment has been introducing the BABYMONSTER members one by one through videos showcasing their life as a trainee and their skills through trainee evaluations and live performances.

Members Ruka, Pharita, Rora, Asa, Chiquita, Ahyeon, and Haram were introduced as the seven members of BABYMONSTER, and fans quickly fell for their charm and talents. The members trained alongside YG Entertainment seniors such as AKMU, BLACKPINK‘s Jennie, Lisa, and Rosé, WINNER‘s Hoony and Yoon, and famed dancer, YGX‘s Lee Jung, raising anticipation for the group.

Up until now, the group has been shown working together as seven, and trainees occasionally joined them with blurred faces, which netizens assumed were trainees who didn’t make the group’s final line-up.

YG Entertainment’s latest teaser for the group, Last Evaluation, completely shocked fans when it revealed that BABYMONSTER would not be debuting as a seven-member group.

The company’s founder and executive producer Yang Hyun Suk started by acknowledging the talent of the seven announced members.

After years of thorough consideration, we’ve narrowed it down to seven very talented trainees.

— Yang Hyun Suk

He then dropped the shocking announcement,

BABYMONSTER will never be a seven member group. It will definitely be less than seven.

— Yang Hyun Suk

To determine which of the seven pre-debut members will make the final line-up, the group will have one “last evaluation,” which will be shared with fans before the final reveal.

Fans immediately expressed their disappointment in the decision after following along with the seven members’ journeys.

The “Last Evaluation” is coming soon; in the meantime, check out the surprising teaser below:


Scroll to top